Tattoo removal

Tattoo removal is done with the Q-switched laser. This laser can generate light pulses with very high peak powers and extremely short pulses (nanoseconds and more recently even picoseconds).

The ink of the tattoo is an exogenous pigment that will absorb the laser light. The energy of the laser light destroys the tattoo pigment by fragmenting it into smaller particles. When, after several sessions, the ink particles are small enough, they will be cleared by the skins immune system.

Depending on the number of colours and type of ink used, the quality of the tattoo (professional or amateur) and the location of the tattoo, it takes between 4 up to more than 10 sessions to remove a tattoo with laser. The interval between the sessions is approx. 4 to 6 weeks. Often patients stop treatments before achieving optimal results. Every laser session destroys some ink particles and fades the tattoo; it is impossible to destroy all the ink layers in one session. Removing a tattoo with a laser is a process that takes time. In some cases a complete resolution of the tattoo is not achieved.

Dark colours (black and dark blue) give best results whereas multicoloured tattoos are more challenging and require different wavelengths, appropriate for the pigment being targeted. Our Q-switched laser platform has several handpieces for treatment of different colours.
We often combine the Q-switched laser with the fractional ablative CO2 laser in the same session to have faster improvement and better results.

Laser tattoo removal is a painful procedure, a numbing cream can be applied 30-45 min prior to the treatment and cold air will be used during the treatment for maximum comfort.

The treatment will either be performed by Dr. Dierckxsens or by one of her experienced staff. Initial laser settings are verified by Dr. Dierckxsens prior to each treatment.

Go to Top

Détatouage

Le détatouage est réalisé à l’aide du laser ‘Q-switched’, capable de produire des impulsions lumineuses extrêmement courtes (qui se mesurent en nanosecondes et même, depuis peu, en picosecondes) à des puissances très élevées.

L’encre du tatouage, étant un pigment exogène, va absorber la lumière du laser. L’énergie de celle-ci détruit le pigment en le fragmentant en particules plus petites. Lorsque les particules d’encre sont suffisamment petites, le système immunitaire de la peau les élimine naturellement.

Le nombre de séances pour enlever un tatouage varient en fonction du nombre de couleurs et du type d’encre utilisés, mais dépends aussi de la qualité du tatouage (professionnelle ou amateur) et de l’emplacement du tatouage. Il faut compter de 4 à plus de 10 séances pour enlever un tatouage au laser, en laissant un intervalle de minimum 6 à 8 semaines entre chacune. Souvent, les patients arrêtent sans aller au bout du processus. Chaque séance permet de détruire des particules d’encre et fait progressivement disparaître le tatouage. Il est impossible de détruire toutes les couches d’encre en une seule fois. Cette méthode de détatouage prend du temps. En outre, une résorption complète n’est pas toujours possible et dans certains cas une ombre du tatouage persiste.

Les couleurs sombres (noir et bleu foncé) donnent les meilleurs résultats, alors que les tatouages ​​multicolores sont plus complexes et requièrent différentes traitements selon le pigment ciblé. Notre plateforme laser Q-switched est dotée de plusieurs pièces à main pour le traitement de différentes couleurs.
Dans certains cas nous combinons le laser Q-switched avec le laser ablatif fractionné CO2 au cours d’une même séance pour obtenir une amélioration plus rapide.

Le détatouage au laser est un procédé douloureux. Une crème anesthésiante peut être appliquée 30 à 45 minutes avant le traitement, complétée par de l’air froid pendant l’intervention, pour un confort optimal.

Haut de page